4.5 Star Books · Book Reviews · mental health · non fiction · Self Help

Gratitude for Happiness: How to Exercise Your Gratitude Muscles by Ged Cusack

35672410

 

Gratitude for Happiness: How to Exercise Your Gratitude Muscles by Ged Cusack

Published: July 14, 2017

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform 

Pages: 185

Genres: non fiction, self help, mental health

Rating: 4.5 stars

Recommend to fans of: practical self help books, incorporating gratitude into your daily life

Foodie Vibes: a simple, easy to prepare, delicious meal of your choosing 

 

Synopsis:

If you’re ready to make Gratitude your habit and build your happiness, now is the time that you must read this book.Do you know that most of us focus more on what we haven’t got, than what we have got? 
Just by switching your attention and focusing on what you have got, you can attract more of the same.

Your gratitude muscles are like any other muscles, if they haven’t been used for a while they may need some warming up.

In this book you will find:

A simple process to help you flex your gratitude muscles and build a gratitude habit to enhance your happiness. Individual exercises at the end of each of the sixty sections, to help you build your own gratitude statements.   Four hundred and ninety sample gratitude statements (as guides) covering a wide spectrum of life, including:  Finance Relationships  Basic shelter

And much more: Three optional timeframes to develop your habit at your own pace. From steady progress or a set timetable to binge reading, you can decide.
Just reading a book isn’t going to provide you the benefits that you seek, so:  Read this book Work through the exercises Express your emotions for even the smallest gratitude’s  Be amazed by your results.

 

Review:

I won this book for free from Goodreads Giveaways. Thank you to Goodreads, the author and publisher for the ebook copy for review. As always, an honest review from me.

My rating is actually 4.5 stars, but since there aren’t half stars I round up.

Gratitude for Happiness is a combination self help book and workbook. The format goes like this: chapters arranges by topic, sub topics that delve deeper into each category of gratitudes, explanations of each gratitude, examples from the author’s life, and prompts for the reader to determine topic specific gratitudes in their own life.

The book is really user friendly. I have the ebook version and can easily write my gratitudes on a piece of paper. It doesn’t hamper my ability to complete the exercises by only having an ebook version. If you prefer to keep your gratitude work right next to the explanations themselves, consider purchasing the printed version so you can write directly in your book. I also like that the book helps guide each person to create a mega list of many gratitudes and then narrow them down to what’s most important to them. Very personal and unique! I read the whole book once through and am now going back to complete one gratitude exercise per day as suggested by the author. I really loved the examples in which the author reframes a negative thought into a positive one. It’s actually a technique taught in therapy and can be quite helpful to many.

Occasionally some of the author’s examples seemed a bit redundant and specific to him. If someone was struggling to figure out their own gratitudes in a particular section, they may or may not be helped by the author’s examples.

Overall, an extremely helpful book to practice gratitude in a purposeful way. I’ve already started recommending this book to family and friends, and want to purchase a physical copy for some.

 

How do you practice gratitude in your life? Journaling, gratitude lists, sharing on social media, prayer, others. Let’s encourage each other to find gratitude in our lives!

4.5 Star Books · Book Reviews · contemporary fiction · Sports · Sports Fiction · Young Adult

Skid by Doug Solter

14680735.jpg

 

Skid by Doug Solter

Published: May 20, 2012

Publisher: CreateSpace

Pages: 270

Genres: young adult, contemporary, sports, sports fiction

Rating: 4.5 stars

Recommend to fans of: fiction books about sports, racing, driven passionate women, females in male dominated sports/careers, action packed books

Read with food: cheese fries ~ Samantha’s favorite

 

Synopsis:

Love and romance at the speed of death.

Seventeen-year-old Samantha Sutton races cars. She’s good. Crazy-talented good. A girl who breaks all the stereotypes. But she has a temper that always gets her into plenty of trouble. After her father died, Samantha focused her life on winning every race. Nothing short of that goal will do. The girl knows she has a debt to pay back.

Eighteen-year-old Manny Wolert loves the engineering side of racing. The nuts and bolts. The supercharged engines and intricate aerodynamics. He’s a racing nerd who grew up inside his uncle’s Formula One team. This is their year to win. If only they can find their Mozart behind the wheel.

A story of two teens, brought together by their love of speed.

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater’s THE SCORPIO RACES and Enid Bagnold’s NATIONAL VELVET should find SKID exciting and emotionally compelling. Fans of Ally Carter’s HEIST SOCIETY series will enjoy the international settings and lifestyle.

This book is the first part of the SKID young adult racing series filled with young romance, bite-your-nails-racing action, international travel, a girl you want to root for, and above all else…a story about racing for people who don’t care about racing.

 

Review:

Skid pulled me in right from the beginning and didn’t let up. The author is phenomenal at bringing us into the world of racing. I know nothing about cars or racing, but I could easily follow the story. The writing made the story work so well. The main character, Samantha, is realistically written as a passionate teenage girl trying to make it in a male dominated sport. Her passion and determination races off each page, making me want to keep reading. I also really enjoyed that the story can be really inspirational for a lot of teenage girls. The more books we feature with strong passionate females, the better. Skid should really be in the hands of more middle and high schoolers.

The only critiques I have are that Samantha kept calling the car her best friend, while driving. Is this a racing thing? After awhile the repetitiveness became a bit annoying. Also she doesn’t have a ton of professional race experience, but after a few months of intense training, she’s competing against seasoned pros. Not incredibly realistic, but young phenols do happen in sport. It certainly makes the world of sports super exciting!

But overall I really enjoyed the book for the exciting world of competitive racing, inspiring character of Samantha and overall fun that made the entire book work.

 

 

As of the date of this initial post, Skid by Doug Solter is available for FREE on Amazon.com in ebook format. Such a great way to see if you like the first book in the series.

*Not an affiliate link, just noticed it was free when I went to buy it and thought I would pass along the info to you all.